Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Plasma and LCD Innovators Honored

Innovators in Plasma Displays, Liquid-Crystal Displays, and Vision Science Among Those to be Honored as 2007 SID Award Winners at Display Week 2007

It’s awards season at the Society for Information Display (SID), and this year SID will once again bestow its highest honors upon a deserving crop of scientists, researchers and display-industry veterans. Among this year’s big winners are a leader in plasma and liquid-crystal display backlighting, an inspirational longtime professor who helped shape the landscape of liquid-crystal research in the United States, and a scientist who has made invaluable contributions to vision science. The 2007 SID Honors and Awards will be presented during Display Week 2007: The SID International Symposium, Seminar & Exhibition, which will take place May 20-25, 2007 in Long Beach, California, U.S.A.

SID will be introducing a brand-new award this year with the presentation of the Slottow-Owaki Prize for Display Education. The first-ever winner is Dr. J. William Doane, who was the director of the world-renowned Liquid Crystal Institute (LCI) at Kent State University from 1983-1996 and led the effort during that time to establish the National Science Foundation Center for Advanced Liquid Crystalline Optical Materials (ALCOM).

“Professor Doane is being recognized for his leadership of the LCI and the NSF Science and Technology Center. Under his direction, these institutes became the leading university-based display programs in the United States,” commented SID’s 2007 Awards Chair, Chris King.

Professor Shigeo Mikoshiba will be awarded the Jan Rajchman Prize for outstanding research in or contributions to flat-panel display (FPD) research. Mikoshiba will receive the Rajchman Prize for his contributions to the technology of plasma display panels (PDPs) and liquid-crystal-display (LCD) backlights, including clarification of motional artifacts of images, and for his many years of leadership in the display community.

“For many years, Professor Shigeo Mikoshiba has been a leading researcher on the science and engineering of plasma displays,” King noted. “He is especially well known for his success in increasing the light-emitting efficiency of plasma displays and his solution to the moving picture artifacts issues found in the first generation of full-color plasma displays.”

Introduced in 2006, the Otto Schade Prize in Display Performance and Image Quality will go this year to Dr. Andrew B. Watson, senior scientist for vision research and director of the Vision Group at NASA Ames Research Center. Through his long and distinguished career, Dr. Watson has made many outstanding contributions to vision science and the computational modeling of visual processing. He is being recognized for the application of vision science to important and innovative developments in image-quality metrics, vision-based image compression, and models for the visibility and diagnosis of display artifacts in both the spatial and temporal domains.

Receiving this year’s Johann Gutenberg Prize for outstanding technical achievement in or contribution to, printer technology will be Dr. Jeff Folkins. Dr. Folkins will be recognized for his substantial contributions to electrophotography and his more recent innovations in solid-ink-jet printing.

Finally, Dr. Andras Lakatos will receive the Lewis and Beatrice Winner Award for his many years of outstanding service to the Society as a member of the Executive Committee, President, and now Editor of the Journal of the SID.

The Society will also be presenting a number of Special Recognition Awards this year, as well as honoring those members of the SID who have achieved the rank of Fellow of the SID. Receiving Special Recognition Awards this year for their contributions to the information-display industry will be In Dae-Chung, John A. Rupp, Koichi Sakita, Dr. Marko M. Sluzsarczuk, Dr. Kalil Kalantar, Dr. Takatoshi Tsujimura, Dr. Walter Riess, and Dr. Sang Soo Kim. Achieving the rank of Fellow of the SID this year, Dr. Michael Hack, Dr. Kenji Okamoto, Dr. Kalluri Sarma, Professor Yoshifumi Shimodaira, Professor Deng-Ke Yang, and Professor Myung Hwan Oh will all be honored as well.

A full list of winners and citations is available on the official Display Week 2007 Web site, Profiles of the major award winners will appear in the Display Week Show Issue of Information Display magazine. The awards will be handed out during the Awards Banquet, which will take place on Monday, May 21 at 8 p.m.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

About Display Week
Display Week 2007: The SID International Symposium, Seminar & Exhibition will take place Sun., May 20 through Fri., May 25 at the Long Beach Convention Center in Long Beach, California, USA. It is the foremost international gathering of scientists, engineers, manufacturers, marketers and users in the field of electronic-information displays. For more information, visit

About SID
The Society for Information Display (SID) is the premier international professional society exclusively devoted to the advancement of electronic-display technology, manufacturing, and applications. Its international headquarters are located at 610 South Second Street, San Jose, CA 95112, U.S.A. Visit SID online at

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You May Also Like


ecoustics is a hi-fi and music magazine offering product reviews, podcasts, news and advice for aspiring audiophiles, home theater enthusiasts and headphone hipsters. Read more

Copyright © 1999-2024 ecoustics | Disclaimer: We may earn a commission when you buy through links on our site.

SVS Bluesound PSB Speakers NAD Cambridge Audio Q Acoustics Denon Marantz Focal Naim Audio RSL Speakers