MAJOR SAMSUNG DLP ISSUE!! HELP!! BEWARE!!

Peter Gulisano
Unregistered guest
Ok, I'm new to the HD game so excuse my ignorance. I've got a major issue with my Samsung DLP. Three component inputs exist 1) 480i / 480p, 2) 480p / 720p / 1080i, 3) 480p / 720p / 1080i. So here is the issue. I have digital & HD cable. 99% of the channels are in 480i and only 4 in HD. Not an issue if you have a component input that supports 480i and up, however the Samsung's DO NOT. THIS CAUSES THE NEED FOR SWITCHING YOUR SELECTED COMPONENT INPUT WHEN VIEWING A 480p OR BETTER SIGNAL. Sammy technical support confirmed what the cable tech explained to me. MAJOR DESIGN ERROR BY SAMMY, GREAT PICTURE IF YOU DON'T MINE THE HASSLE. VERY TEMPTED TO RETURN FOR THE HITACHI BECAUSE OF THIS. Any recommendations?

dubz
Unregistered guest
i believe the hitachi is a lcd projection, like the sony grand wega/xbr. you've always got the possibility of dead pixels, its not as rare as some people think

that is pretty dumb on samsungs part, so it won't work at all (480i) going through the 480p+ inputs? wierd

Username: Lexx

Post Number: 2
Found this from another poster. May solve your problem.

"One warning though about this TV (Samsung DLP) though; it's component inputs only accept 480p, 720p or 1080i, so if whatever you will be using to receive HD signals cannot upconvert 480i programming to one of those formats, you will have to switch inputs whenever you change channels from an HD broadcast to a regular broadcast. I was doing this for a few days until Comcast told me you could change the setting on the cable box to upconvert. This may be how all HD receivers work, but as I didn't know about the cable box setting at first, I thought I'd pass it along."

Unregistered guest