Buying 50" DLP this week, need to decide fast

Username: Dlpwantabe

Post Number: 1
I am buying a 50" DLP this week, quick which one is the best to buy. I was looking at the panasonic PT-50DL54, it is their new DLP, thanks for the infor, btw I am really new at this and don't want to waste my money.

Bronze Member
Username: Harbinger77

Nashville, TN

Post Number: 16
I would suggest looking at the technology behind the model. I did alot of research on dlps before I bought my lcd. I did most of my research on Samsungs, but I'll tell you what I learned and maybe it will help. Most DLPs on the market have a HD2 or HD3 chip. In the next few months there are supposed to be tvs coming out that utilize the newer and superior HD2+ and xHD3 chips. Also the newer dlps are supposed to have have newer color wheels which will have more segments then the current tvs. So, in your research, I would suggest you go with the newest technology available. Part of my reason for going with LCD was because I didn't want to wait for the new chips, but it seemed ridiculous to buy one, when the newer technology was right around the corner. The main problem I had with DLPs was the rainbowing problem that some people see when the tv shows fast moving action. Some people see it, some people dont....but if you see it, you will always see it...it drove me crazy, so I went with the LCD. I would suggest spending some time at a local retailer watching the display and seeing how you like it. Pay close attention to sports or movies that have quick movement, and see if you see the rainbowing. If you don't, your in luck. If you are specifically looking for a model number, I was waiting for the Samsung HLP5085 to come out. It was the latest and greatest from Samsung....unfortunately I still haven't seen a firm release date, but everyone raves about it at Technology Shows. Hope that helps in your search.

Bronze Member
Username: Rudyq3

Post Number: 26