Need help with setup

Username: Thadragun

Post Number: 1
I'm new to FTA and I've been reading around and I'm trying to understand how it all works.

I'm going to buy a ViewSat Ultra receiver. Right have I have a StarCh* and a BEV satellite dish. I was told I cant do anything with my StarC*, but I can get something with the BEV I have.

I was told I can get either BEV, or DN satellite signal. One or the other. My Bev dish has only one LNB (not sure if its dual), but it has an expansion slot for another LNB..

My question is, how do I get BOTH bev and dn satellite signals? Can I just get another LNB for my BEV dish, stick it in the expansion slot and then I'm set, or do I have to get another dish to get both signals? .. so one dish for BEV, and the other would receive dn, OR I was told I can just take down my bev and get an Elliptical dish and use just that and get both signals. Is there any way to do change my bev dish so I can get both without buying another dish, or is that not possible. What dish/LBN is the best way to go?

My dish: http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/9907/1004021hb6.jpg
http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/7692/1004023eq2.jpg

Thanks}

Silver Member
Username: Steph_raven

Les Cedres, Quebec Canada

Post Number: 111
Marcel, the dishes are pointing in different positions from bev to dn. like bev 91 and 82 sats, dn has 110 & 119. you'll need a second dish to point at one of dn sats.
look at this post:
https://www.ecoustics.com/electronics/forum/home-video/334504.html
with the ultra that u'll purchase, u'll get a switch which will allow u to go from on dish to the other. it also depends on ur location to get skew and elevation. also i've tried using the starch0ice dish and could catch the signal for bev with it. i don't think it works.

Post Number: 2
thanks alot.

My friend says I need 3 LNB's to get both DN signals and the BEV signal (only one Bev signal is needed?)