1080p - To Be or Not To Be ?

Username: Viiofix

New Haven, CT New Haven

Post Number: 5
Just purchased a Toshiba 72MX195 which has very impressive specs and amongst them include the capability of handling 1080p however my Cable Company's issue of a Scientific Atlantic DVR Box doesn't support 1080p it only handles up to 720p. Since I am a novice (learning fast) are there any Cable TV Boxes out there that do support 1080p ?

Silver Member
Username: Kano

BC Canada

Post Number: 816
The TV has a native resolution of 1080p, which means it will scale everything to 1080p. This is a far cry from having a device connected that outputs 1080p. Currently only select high end video cards can output 1080p, there are no cable boxes, DVD players, etc. that currently output 1080p.

HD-DVD and Blu-Ray will eventually output 1080p, but the first round of these players will likely revolve around 720p. Currently there is a conflict between the movie industry and these formats; on one hand the next gen players want to output full HD (1080p) on the other the movie industry wants to deter piracy by only allowing the full HD signal to be transmitted through HDMI. To further complicate things a new version of HDMI may have to be released. Anyone's guess is good as to how this will be implemented, I know I'll be pissed if my brand new JVC HD-ILA doesn't accept the "new" HDMI and everything's scaled down to 480p through component (which is the proposal BTW)

I fully expect everything to centre around 720p for at least a few years.

Bronze Member
Username: Shocktrooper

Post Number: 11
"there are no cable boxes, DVD players, etc. that currently output 1080p."

um, my cable box can output 1080(at least I think). On the menu it has a setting that reads "Y-Pr-Pb output" and you can adjust from 480i/p through 1080i/p.

TVone
Unregistered guest
I'll wager a corn chip that it only goes up to 1080i. Best to check your facts before posting in forums where technical accuracy is important, sunshine.