Observation about DLP and RP LCD

Anonymous

I'm no expert but looking at the DLPs, they have this rotating colour wheel that some people have noted that is a noise concern. My concern is also that being a mechanical device, this colour wheel is another thing that could fail and require repair and/or replacement after a while.

The RP LCDs like Sony's Grand Wega system is all electronic. No mechanical parts to fail.

Am I right or am I missing something?

Bronze Member
Username: Gnnr

NJ USA

Post Number: 72
No mechanical parts to fail, yes. But the chemicals in the LCD break down too quickly for my tastes and may require expensive repairs/service inside of 5 or 3 years with image failure before that. It's a toss up, in a way, but a 160 buck wheel (potentially covered under a service plan) vs a complete engine replacement for well over 1K seems a no brainer.

Anonymous

Mr. Cox, are you saying the the 3 LCD chips in the Grand Wega have a potential for leaking?

Anonymous

LCD currently dominates new computer monitors by a wide margin. 10's of millions of LCD monitors have been sold including hundreds of thousands of LCD projection TV's. The technology is proven to be reliable

Color wheels are innately flawed in design no matter what new technology is developed. Only the next generation 3 chip standards will resolve the issue. However, these 3 chip DLP's are currently hugely expensive

LCD or LCD rear/front projection is the best all around all purpose technology for the price today, able to handle quite well a variety of applications

FYI
Unregistered guest
I don't think so! LCD's are organic matter that will alter and fade with light and heat. No LCD will have the same picture quality after 4000 hours. Here's why!

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0%2C1558%2C1049289%2C00.asp?kc=ETNKT0209KTX1

Bronze Member
Username: Dwclark

Arlington, Tx Usa

Post Number: 13