SD Programming on HDTV's - Desperate for Help!

Username: Nachoman91

Cincinnati, OH USA

Post Number: 6
Novice here so barden the stupid question.

Do I have to sacrifice standard definition program quality on an HDTV? I have a JVC HD-ILA HDTV and my standard definition program quality is atrocious. It's blotchy and blurry and rough.

I watched a basketball and couldn't even read the names on the backs of the players jerseys on my 52" HDTV yet I can on my 27" non-HDTV.

Am I doing something wrong? MY 15 year old 60" tube TV didn't have this problem. Is the problem this TV? Do all HDTV's have this problem.

I just want an HDTV about 42" in size that gives me SD program quality as good as my old tube TV but also gives me good high definition. I don't want to sacrifice 100+ SD channels for 10 HD channels.

Can someone recommend me a TV that will cover my needs?

xvxvxvxv
Unregistered guest
Yes
NO
NO
Yes
Yes DLP or LCD

xvxvxvxv

Still Learning
Unregistered guest
It's not the TV! It's the crappy signal your feeding it! Standard definition? What is that anyway. For some it's analog cable. For others it's off-air analog. Some are going through a 3.5db splitter or two before feeding through a junk VCR or other (not so passive device), not to mention low shielded coax with crappy connectors. What do they expect?

Get a satelite service (digital) and feed component or DVI straight to the set. Get cable (digital cable) and feed component or DVI straight to the set. A digital TV needs a digital signal. Quit fooling around!

Anonymous

The extreme problem described looks more like a DLP problem from what I have heard

I'm running a Panasonic PT-AE700U FRONT PROJECTOR LCD on a 92 inch screen with Comcast HI DEF via HDMI/DVI hookups - and just checked out ABC sports ice skating championship on regular cable channel.