Need some Hitachi 50v500 help...

Username: Mike

Post Number: 2
I'm an installer, and have a couple of questions. My customer has selected the 50V500, and will have it installed in a custom wall unit to be built, placing the set somewhat higher up than the factory stand would afford, to get that "cinema feel" angle of view. I'm recommending the Denon AVR 3803 receiver, and most likely 2 Infinity bookshelves(unless I can find him a pair of the old Polk RT5's!), and 4 Infinity in-walls, along with a Velodyne sub, set in a cabinet below the TV, behind grillclothed doors. The literature I've seen on the set claims the TV's speakers can be used as the center channel. Is this connection a regular speaker wire connection? I would also like to get some feedback on the sound quality of the TV speakers on this set. My next question regards the HD-SD format selection feature. I notice that this set allows either format, and in addition, offers an "auto mode", where I assume it can determine what type of signal it's receiving, and "automatically" display in the proper mode. Any feedback as to the performance of this "auto" mode? The Denon AVR 3803 claims to be able to pass HD signal, as well as being able to upconvert composite and S-video, to component video. My plan is to run video from cable composite, cable HD component, DVD component, and VCR composite to the receiver, and run ONLY ONE set of component video cables to the TV. The Denon AVR 3803 owner's manual, available on line, states that in the case the TV won't display the upconverted video, then a "video stabilizer", with Time Base Correction can be used in the source to receiver path. Any recommendations on a stabilizer w/TBC, just in case? Thanks, in advance, for any help you all can lend!

Anonymous