I'm new to HomeTheater Stuff... Lots of DVI-related questions

Username: Burghman

Post Number: 1
First, this is an awesome forum. I've read through alot of your posts and have gained a TON of info.

I do have some questions (probably dumb) that I haven't been able to find answers to yet.

My Scenario: Have a Sony 51" CRT rear projection with 1 DVI input. I have Comcast HD Cable Box with component and DVI output. Right now I just have a Sony progressive scan DVD player. I'm using component output from both the cable box and DVD player.

My Questions:
1. Is it 'worth' it to ditch my progressive scan and pay 200 for an 'upconverting' DVD player w/ DVI/HDMI out?

2. If I had to choose between DVI on the DVD player or Cable box, is it better to go with the DVD player, because cable is inherently a non-perfect signal, and a DVI would show its flaws ?

3. What is out there in the near term (6-12 months) future regarding DVD formats/DVD player technology? I've heard about 'HD-DVDs'. What are they, how are they different (in layman's terms), and are they expected anytime soon? Would one of these 'upconverting' DVD players available now support these 'HD-DVDs'? (For that matter, would a progressive-scan player support them?).

4. Another option that a techie friend suggested was building a cheap 'shuttle' PC with a DVI-equipped video card, 5.1 sound card, DVD rom, etc... and use that as a 'upconverting' player, plus I could network the shuttle PC to my normal PC and use my TV as a 'monitor' (streaming MP3s, playing MPEGs, etc right on the TV). Anyone know if that is a feasible idea? Any pros or cons for that as opposed to buying the upconverting DVD player standalone?

Wow.. I have so much to learn. Info/feedback on ANY or all of these questions is SOOOOO much appreciated.

Thanks!

Discovering
Unregistered guest
Hi Justin,

I'll be painfully honest, but brief.