S-Video Pass Through

I am novice here, as my question no doubt reveals: what is the value of using the s-video pass through on the receiver?? Wouldn't direct connection between the DVD player and the TV be the strongest way to send the signal??

mike
yes, a direct connection is always going to give you the best signal quality. The purpose of routing it through your receiver though is because that way whenever your dvd player or what ever other source is turned on, your receiver will automatically switch itself to the correct mode. Its called "video switching." If you dont mind switching it manually then go with the direct connection.

-mike

In other words, when I activate the device -- say slap a disc into my DVD player -- the receiver automatically changes to the DVD source?? Otherwise, I'd have to select the DVD source either from the remote or the controls on the reciever??

Let's back up:

If you have the DVD's audio going to the receiver and the s-video going directly to the TV, then you have two different switches--the receiver and the TV. Therefore, you must pick your source component on the receiver (DVD) and the input source (DVD) on your TV. Not a huge deal, but you'll always be doing two different things, plus the audio could be mismatched. (That is, say you switch to "DVD" on your receiver without changing the input on your TV... you'll hear the DVD audio, but the picture will be from a different source.)

If you route S-video through your receiver, you only have ONE switch--when you choose DVD on your receiver, the DVD video routes to the TV.