Help - new to this - Panasonic 77U 50 plasma, Onkyo 894 AR

Username: Silversalmon586

Post Number: 1
Sorry, this is probably overkill, but I'm new to the home theater stuff! I have a new Panasonic TX-5077U Plasma (2 HDMI). I have a Time Warner 4250 HDC Scientific Atlanta cable box (HDMI equiped). I have a Onkyo 894 AR/DVD, with 2 HDMI out, 1 in. I also have a Toshiba DVD/VCR combo, but only use it for VHS, if ever. I think I have to hook up the old RCA plugs on that one - to the AR, but can I hook up the rest with HDMI? Any recommendations? Is 12 ga. speaker wire OK as well? I appreciate your help, in advance!

Gold Member
Username: John_s

Columbus, Ohio US

Post Number: 1794
­
"I have a Onkyo 894 AR/DVD, with 2 HDMI out, 1 in."

For the record Bryan, you have that backwards--you've got 2 HDMI in, and one out. One of those HDMI inputs should be hooked up to the DVD player's output, and the other HDMI input should be occupied by the output of the cable box. Then, of course, the receiver's HDMI output feeds one of the TV's HDMI inputs.

"I also have a Toshiba DVD/VCR combo, but only use it for VHS, if ever. I think I have to hook up the old RCA plugs on that one - to the AR..."

Yes, but you'll also have to connect the video out to the TV separate from the HDMI cable coming in from the receiver. This receiver will not convert that signal to its HDMI output.

12 gauge speaker wire is an excellent choice.

Enjoy :-)
­

Post Number: 2
John - Thanks!

You're right, my bad. Sorry to make this so trivial, but I should have one HDMI cable going to the TV from the AVR and the old style RCA's going to the TV as well - right? I'm just used to my old system that was literally a cluster of cables going all over the place. This is my first experience with HDMI - seems like it simplifies things...for now!

You made it simple - thanks for your help - much appreciated!

Gold Member

Columbus, Ohio US

Post Number: 1795
­