I am new to this what the difference between DTS and DD

Jake
I don't know much about this stuff. Which is better DTS or Dolby Digital? I know they are both better than Dolby Pro Logic II but I don't know the difference between the two

Click the link
http://dolby.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/dolby.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_sid=zXoC71Fg&p_lva=&p_faqid=133&p_created=1011135571&p_sp=cF9ncmlkc29ydD0mcF9yb3dfY250PTcxJnBfcGFnZT0x&p_li=

Greg Lee
It's arguable. Judging from the discussions I've seen, I'd say they're equal. Dolby ProLogic II can decode a Dolby Digital two channel signal, so the two aren't mutually exclusive.

Dolby Digital: Discrete 5.1 channel sound (L,R, Center, Surround L, Surround R and LFE (low frequency effects via subwoofer.)

DTS: Discrete 5.1 channel digital sound but with less compression than Dolby Digital. While much less common than DD, a purist would probably say it's technically better. In reality, it's just another format of discrete digital surround sound.

Dolby Pro Logic II: A SIMULATED version of Dolby Digital that works with any stereo source or non-DD encoded material. This is a good way to get the sound of DD from video tapes and TV broadcasts, which, by definition, cannot be encoded in Dolby Digital.

Jake
Thank you for the answers

Username: Dave_moritz

Post Number: 2