Question regarding HDMI usage

Username: Angryman

Post Number: 1
Hi there, I'm new to the whole home electronics technology stuff.. I know a bit, but I am more of a computer guy.

Anyways.. my question is this.

I was more or less talked into getting a new TV.. we needed one, but I mean talked into regarding certain features. It's a 52' Toshiba DLP, and I quite like it, however I don't think I'm using it to it's full potential.

After spending the money for it, there wasn't much room to buy any extra "new" stuff other than component cables and stuff. So I'm still using my previous DVD player and amp/surround sound, etc.

My TV has 2 HDMI connections available on it which go in at the back, however I have no devices that can use that just yet. I was wondering a few things:

1. Is it worth it to purchase these new DVD players with HDMI outputs? Is the quality that noticeable?

2. More importantly.. HOW DOES IT WORK!

I'm quite dumbfounded on how exactly the HDMI idea is designed to work with your TV. I'm by no means a moron, but I've thought of this scenario in my head and don't see how it's done.

Correct me if I'm wrong, you have one cable which has both audio and video (or at least in theory). Now why would I plug in (if I had a DVD with HDMI out) the cable directly to the TV when the TV only needs the sound, and any 5.1 is wasted on the TV?

Basically, how do you get the "uncompressed" video into the TV, and the "uncompressed" 5.1 audio into the reciever/amp with 1 cable connection? This concept just isn't clicking in my mind.

Sorry if this has been asked before or if the answer was so simple that I should've known.. I just feel like a total moron when the guy was trying to explain it to me but he didn't sound like he had a clue about it himself.

Post Number: 2
"when the TV only needs the video".. sorry about that!

Silver Member
Username: Praetorian

Canada

Post Number: 135