Speaker advice needed.

Username: Moorthy

Ontario Canada

Post Number: 1
Hi all, I'm a newbie / lurker that's just invested in a new Yamaha HTR-5860 (RX-V657). Now, I finally have an excuse to finish the basement.

The speakers that I currently own are Paradigm 9se's (yes, they're pretty old), and a pair of Paradigm Micros.

Here's the question. Do I keep what I have (using the Micros as surrounds) and pick up a center channel speaker and subwoofer to finish my system off (recommendations please), or do I buy a new set of matched speakers and keep the 9se's on the side as "B" channel speakers to crank up the tunes with.

I'm budgeting $500 - $1000 for additional speakers.

Hell, while I'm at it, I'll ask another couple of questions:

The Yammy supports presence speakers as well as two rears. Is it worth the $$$ to add another 4 speakers into the mix?

Dipolars for the surround speakers, a good idea?

Sorry for all of the questions, and have a great New Year,

Bill

Bronze Member
Username: Praetorian

Post Number: 15
Judge the sound quality of your current speakers yourself, and if you like the sound keep them.

A good powered subwoofer can cost between 3 and 4 hundred (canadian) but it's really worth the investment for good sound in both HT and music, the cheap ones just sound boomy with very little variety in sound or subtlety. Depending on the size of room you want to listen in you could go 8,10, or 12 in. I will be purchasing a Velodyne DPS 10B or 12B myself next month. There is little to no justification for me to have a 12 inch in my HT room (16 sq ft), but it is only 80$ more, and who knows what the NEXT room will be (I am in the Army so get moved a lot).