Need advise

Ong
Unregistered guest
I just bought a universal dvd player which has built-in dolby/dts decoder. I would like to listen the SACD and DVD-Audio. My player has built-in decoder so I think I don't need the receiver. Right? I only need the amplifier and 5.1 speaker system. Please suggest me what amplifier and speaker system should I buy for my dvd player.
thanks.

Bronze Member
Username: Monolgoue

Post Number: 18
You need to tell us what % of time music vs. movies, the size of the room in which you will be installing the system, your budget, tastes, etc. That there is a pretty wide open question, my friend!

Ong
Unregistered guest
Dear Monologue,
Thanks for your reply.

My 60% of time is for music listening (SACD) and 40% for movies.
My room is quite small only 28 sq meter. So I don't want to use the powerful amplifier. I think 70 watt rms may be enough for me. I hope this power won't be disturbed my neighbours.

My budget is not more than 300 US $ as I am only a student.
I want to listen the multi channel music most of the time.
Hope you can suggest me the suitable system for me.

Bronze Member
Username: John_s

Columbus, Ohio US

Post Number: 40
Ong:
For that kind of money, you need to be in the "Home Theater in a Box" division in this forum. And yes you need to be thinking receiver because that's the cheapest way to go. You can't use a straight amplifier anyway--how would you change the volume level on the music?

Ong
Unregistered guest
Thanks John.
I will go and find the solution in the "Home Theater in a Box" division as you suggested.
Actually, I want to buy an active subwoofer and surround speaker, center and front speakers for my dvd. That's why I post it in this HT speaker packages division.
I think I can connect my dvd 5.1 output to the subwoofer(without the expensive av receiver).