HELP! Looking for best HT system for about $2000

Anonymous
I am a TOTAL NOVICE at audio and the more I read, the more confused I get. I would appreciate any help someone can offer. I am seeking a high quality home theater system for around $2000.

It would be for all listening experiences (CDs, radio, audio cassettes, plasma tv, dvd and vhs). It would need to cover an area of about 300 sq. ft. with a possible separately-controlled auxiliary speaker set up to cover a small adjacent area of 100 sq. ft.

I would be looking for a system that offers quality precision sound over volume, but one that would be as good for an action movie as for Bach. Also a system that is novice user friendly.

Besides speakers and receiver, I would want 5 disc CD/DVD and dual cassette player/recorder. I already have a VHS player/recorder but may need a better quality one.

I was looking at the Denon DHT-700DV DVD Home Theater System (which only has a single disc DVD). For a CD player I was considering the Denon CDM370 or the Yamaha CDC585, for cassette deck the Denon DRW585. I have no clue on VHS player/recorder or what to do about auxiliary speakers (if necessary) for the adjacent room.

Can I do better than the above? I am willing to buy components and put the thing together if necessary. I've read a little in this forum about the Onkyo receivers and the Energy Take 5.2 speaker system. HELP, anyone!

Anonymous
home theater is not easy, but it's worth it.
I install for it all the time and also enjoy it at home.
research it
lot's of it
thats what I did before I installed for a living
I pieced together my system with components that did what I liked them to.
don't get trapped by home theater in a box
people never seem as impressed as I was with the following:
2 jbl towers for the front
1jbl large center
1 150 POWERED watt cerwin vega subwoofer
2 small jbl's for rear(least important pieces)
1 yamaha amp with enough power to push it all