How do you hook up optical cables through a system selector? help!

Username: Slapshooterwa

Post Number: 2
i have a big screen hd tv with only one component video outlet. i also have an xbox, ps2, and dvd player with those cables and i hated changing them everytime. So i bought this very nice pelican system selector pro with tons of outlets. it has more than enough outlets for comonent, composite, ethernet, s video coaxial, and optical. So heres my problem, im a novice at this stuff and i cant figure out how to hook up both of the optical cables from my dvd player and my xbox to the selector and get sound. Im sure its something easy but its just not working. the way i have it now is the optical from the selector (out) to the dvd/theatre receiver (in) and the xbox to one of the optical in outlets on the selector. on my dvd player i get sound, but im not sure if its from the optical outlet or not. nothing on the xbox. i appreciate it you guys. i have a link to the selector if you guys want to see what it looks like.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=20385%26item%3D8187149932 %26%26

Post Number: 3
by the way sorry bout the multiple threads wanted to post title in one line

Username: Bobmcclune

Newark, DE United States

Post Number: 8
I am not familiar with this model but all normally you would set it up like this.

The OUT connections on the Pelican Selector will go to your TV, all of the other components (xbox, ps2 and dvd) will plug into the Pelican on the IN connections.

One thing to watch for is if you have an AV/S-Video/Component wire IN on your Pelican Selector you will most likely need an AV/S-Video/Component wire OUT to your TV.