Help a newbie set up 5.1 to a DVD - prob easy answer please take a look

Unregistered guest
First of all let me point out that i am a complete novice so apologies if you've already answered this question a hundred times before!

I've just inherited a very cheap 5.1 home theatre system (NEUTAC S8513110) and i need to wire it up to my DVD (TECHNIKA dvd203), it seems to work like this:

The 5 speakers & subwoofer connect by 3.5mm jack to a control box (that's the easy bit) - the control box then has 3 inputs (front, surround, CE/SW) each is 3.5mm jack size - I have 3 cables supplied each 3.5mm to 2 x RCA - the diagram in the manual shows all 3 cables connected to the 3 inputs on the control box with the other end of the 3 cables (6 x RCA) connected to the DVD player! - my problem is that the DVD player manual suggests that 5.1 systems should be connected to a single coaxial digital signal output................
...My question is how does 6 x RCA go into 1 X coaxial??

Thanks for your help in advance.

TPE
Unregistered guest