Please give me some advice

Username: Findingemo

Post Number: 3
I'm a home theater noob, so I really could use all the advice you can offer. In a couple months I'm moving into a new apartment, and am going to start building myself a decent home theater system. Since I'm kind of on a budget I'm going to be buying it in stages, starting with a receiver and a pair of front speakers. Next I'll be adding a sub, then I'll go from there. My budget right now is about $500, so probably about $300 for the receiver and $200 for the speakers. Please give me suggestions as to some good options. It is going to be a fairly small single bedroom apartment so I won't need a HUGE system, but this setup will go in the main room so I want it powerfull enough to function as the main system. Thank in advance to any replies.

MiamiJ
Unregistered guest
Hey, take a look at the onkyo sks-ht520 set. I was also looking for stand alone speakers and I tested this set along with the JBL northridge E60s. I was impressed with both, but I opted for the onkyo's in the end.

Post Number: 4
I actually did look at both of those sets, but I decided I'd rather spend the $200 on one set of nicer front speakers and then ad later rather than get a whole surround set now. Thanks though :-)

Post Number: 5
What are everyones thoughts on the Klipsch Synergy B-2 and B-3 sets?

Post Number: 6
I think I may have decided on what speakers to get. Right now I'm leaning towards a pair of Paradigm Atom's. Now if anyone could be so kind as to suggest some receivers in the $300 price range that would work well with these I would appreciate it. Thanks

eri316
Unregistered guest
check out the sony ht-ddw660. i got it for $169 at circuit city and it sounds great. read a lot of reviews on it too, great sound for a low price.

TPE
Unregistered guest