Need help! w/ RCA RT2380

Unregistered guest
I installed a RCA RT2380 dolby digital audio video reciever about 5 months ago and until now it has worked perfectly. But, now suddenly, only the two front speakers are working. I feel like some setting has been changed and but I cannot find out how to change it back. I have tried to reset to the factory settings by following the instructions in the manual, but that does not work. Can someone please help me figure out what is wrong. I am a novice at this kind of thing.

Bronze Member
Username: Philman

Richmond, IN USA

Post Number: 14
Have you tried setting the unit with one of the other sound modes such as Disco, stadium, theater or jazz club, etc? Do all the speakers work in one of these modes?

If not, on page 20-21 of your manual there is a description of how to set and test each of the speakers. This will tell you if they are all connected and working or turned on. If not check wiring, they could have come loose causing the amp to shut off the surround channels.

good luck

Unregistered guest
Thanks for your reply Phil...you are a peach!

I have tried adjusting the settings for each speaker as discribed on page 20 and 21, but the only speakers that show up are the front ones. I have not tried changing to the other modes...I will see what happens then. All wiring appears to be intact. I think I will disconnect and reconnect just to see...

Thanks a bunch for your help.
Cyndi

Bronze Member

Richmond, IN USA

Post Number: 17
Quick question, when you select <setup> on the remote and then pressing the <left> or <right> buttons does it scroll through the center and surround on/off options? (Page 21)

Cyndi
Unregistered guest
I am not at home now to try that...but I have done set up and I don't recall seeing the surrond on/off option. All i can do is set the distance for the front speakers. There were no questions with a yes or no answer. I will try again when I get home.

Thanks again.

Anonymous