RCA to exposed wire?

Username: Crazylegs

Post Number: 2
I have a question, if anyone has the time to help me out.

I recently got home theater speakers for cheap off of Ebay. Well, as it turns out, they are specifically designed to plug into the back of a DVD output. Meaning, all of the connectors for the speakers are the RCA (red and white) type connectors. Not necessarily a bad thing, but I was hoping to get everything hooked up through a receiver.

So how would I go about getting the RCA plugs into the exposed wire clamps that are on the back of receivers? I was thinking of cutting off the RCA plugs, but I am not an electrician, and was worried about not being able to do anything with the wires in the cord. How will I know which wires are +/-, and how will I know which is left and which is right channel?

Sorry if this doesn't make sense, but I'm new to this. Thanks in advance for any help!

Bronze Member
Username: Os2dude

Marietta , GA USA

Post Number: 18
From what I understand, the center pin of the RCA is positive (RED?) and the outer ring is negative (BLACK?).

I've never stripped a pre-made RCA cable, but you should find 2 wires inside. You may need an ohm meter to tell which is red (Unless they were nice and color coded the wires for you.) It may even be a wire inside another layer. (Like a shielded COAX, if you've seen one.) In that case, the inner wire is RED and the outer wrapper is BLACK.

If you don't have a meter, then any kind of conductivity method could be used. A flash light bulb and batter, for instance. Connect a wire from bulb to battery, and use the other as your test lead. Connect the other bulb wire to one of the speaker wires and touch the bulb to the center pin. If the bulb lights, that's your red.

Post Number: 3