HDTV Cable box and what it does

Username: Krustangel

Seattle, WA

Post Number: 1
Bare with me, but I have a series of questions related to HDTV and this is my first time posting, so be all means I will take any criticism given.

1. Recently purchased the 50 inch Sony XBR1 and have gotten my first taste of HDTV. This TV has 1080i capabilities and I realize that not all HD channels output this level. With that all said I just switched from a Radio Shack HDTV tuner to the comcast motorola HDTV cable box. .. my question is- have I lost the ability to watch some channels in 1080 because my box is limited to 720? Is there a way to change this? Or should I switch back?

2. The component video cables given to my by comcast for my box seem adequate. . . . but now that I have dropped all this money for a TV do I need to go out and upgrade to some MONSTER component video cables? or are these enough?

3. Last one, and this semi-related- during my orginal hook up phase with the new HDTV (HDTV tuner and analog cable to the back of tv (no Box)) I received all my local channels in HD and the normal cable channels, the only change and I dont know if it is the TV or the new house we moved in but I get channels like 92.3 and 92.4 etc. these channels appear to be HBO and show max. . . they are not on all the time and sometimes they appear to be fastforwarding. I have no control of the video, other than if it is on I watch it (last night I watched Syrania). My question is can anyone explain what is going on?

Thank you so much for your time and energy in this.

Best,
k

Bronze Member
Username: 1movibuff

Post Number: 32