Clear to Air HDTV Question

Username: Smittyb

Post Number: 1
I am a newbie to HDTV. I recently replaced my old 21 inch Sony Trinitron with a Sony KDLV32XBR1. This TV does have a HD tuner built in and a cable card slot. The picture and sound are both outstanding! I currently have cablevision basic which has 79 analog channels. No digital box and no cable card. When my new sony was programming the stations, it found an additional 21 or 22 digital stations. Some of these are in HD. ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, UPN, PBS and the WB. I get these stations without a cable card and after reading several posts on this subject I believe that you call them "clear to air". They have a decimal in thier numbers and all of them are above the last analog channel #79. My question is this. One of these stations, NBC in HD is now showing a "not authorized" in the program designation. Has this NBC HD station been moved to a different digital number or is it a temporary transmission problem? Any help would be appreciated. Also, is there any publication or web listing that provides the general public with the digital codes for these digital station?

Bronze Member
Username: Mvanmeter

KY USA

Post Number: 42
sounds like a cable company problem with receiving and passing on the NBC signal.

an FCC publication that shows current and future channel designations is

http://hraunfoss.fcc.gov/edocs_public/attachmatch/DA-05-1743A2.pdf