Do I need a line conditioner?

Username: Rglaser

Post Number: 1
I am a total novice at this and am looking for expert advice. My husband and I have just moved into a new house, and we are getting ready to have our audio/video components for a home theater installed. We purchased them a couple of years ago, but due to building delays, we are just having the installation done now. The system is nothing fancy:
- TV
- VCR
- DVD player
- cassette deck
- turntable
- CD player
- surround sound speakers, plus subwoofer, center speaker, etc.
- receiver for all but the satellite
- satellite receiver

I think this is it. The salesman at the home theater store is telling us we should also buy a line conditioner now, but I'm skeptical. Is this necessary? The one he has recommended is $350, but I'm sorry, I don't know the model/manufacturer. The stereo equipment is JVC, the TV and VCR are Mitsubishi, and the receiver is Marantz. I can't remember the DVD player or speakers. Why wouldn't he have mentioned the line conditioner 2 years ago?

Also, everything will sit together on one wall - the TV in the center, video components in a rack to the left, and audio components to the right. We are not putting speakers in any other rooms except the one where the equipment will sit.

Thanks for any light you can shed.

Username: Project6

Post Number: 56
tough call, specially on a forum such as this. Some people swear by it and will defend its necessity to their dying breath and there are those who believe that it is another scam perpetuated by companies to get more money out of audio nuts such as us.