Dish Network VIP 222k

Username: Robble

NC

Post Number: 1
I have a paid Dish subscription set up in two rooms. It was set up recently, using hardware I am unfamiliar with. I haven't seen a real Dish IRD since 501 DVRs and I do not thoroughly understand the technology used to allow multiple televisions to work with one IRD. I DO understand it from a very armchair perspective, I know what multiplexing is in general, but in application I am lost and I am hoping that someone can save me a buttload of time trying to figure out what I even need to learn in order to set this up.

The dish on the roof has 3 LNBs in it, and one wire runs into a Holland DPD2 box. That box splits out to two outputs, VHF/UHF and SAT. Sat goes into another little box, a Dish network DP2 Separater. That DP2 Separater splits off into SAT1 and SAT2 on the back of the VIP 222k IRD. The UHF/VHF out on the DPD2 box connects to the Home Distribution port on the back of the IRD.

I would like to be able to connect the Sonicview into this same dish arrangement, but I don't know how. I think the Sonicview has a passthrough port for coax that will allow another STB or IRD to connect through it - will this allow me to keep both the VIP and the HD8000 connected concurrently and select between them?

I would be perfectly content having to manually swap a wire between the Sonicview and the DN VIP (or install a switch, whatever) but I don't know where to put it.

Does anyone know enough about this configuration know how to wire it, and equally important, what kind of switch configuration to configure the Sonicview with?

I'd love to be able to get the Sonicview working with my SG2100 / QPH031 / Winegard, but I've given up. It is nowhere near as friendly as the CS 5000 was for motorized setups.

Gold Member
Username: Saqeeb9000

Post Number: 5911
did u try setting's on ur sonicview,
menu , installation, dishsetting,
try to change diseqc to different position until u get signals

NC

Post Number: 2