Question/Help

Username: Jofee

Post Number: 1
I've been snooping around this forum for about a couple of weeks now, and it seems to be a very informitive and helpful site. I'm new to the fta world also, I recently got my dish 500 and dpplnb and also nova reciever, quad rg6 cables, and wireless ethernet bridge.

Well set up went smooth and file transfer to nova (new bins) went smoothely. I understand, azimuth, skew, and elevation, and set it accordingly to my area. I also made sure dish was plumb with leveler.

I went threw the steps of setting up the nova, and set up everthing correctly, and made my way to scan 110 and 119.

But I have ran into a dillema!

I can only get a S=49 Q=9. I have a signal meter with compass built on (SF 95C+), used it correctly, and still no change in S and Q. Shocked, I dismounted the dish while the S and Q was on the screen, and set the dish in my apartment, hence i live in a apartment, so no roof climbing for me, tv is within fifteen feet from dish on patio, and I noticed while the dish sat on the floor of my apartment, the S=49 and Q=49, did not change whatsoever!

I thought that since the dish was being moved and dismounted, and placed in a enclosed area (my apartment) that the S and Q are supposed to be significantly affected?

It just seems strange that signal never changed while dismounting and especially having the dish sitting on the floor in my apartment!

Can anyone explain what the problem could be, as far as signal issues? Is there an easy fix to this? Is this something common?

All input and feedback, is greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Jofee

Bronze Member
Username: Ferrarifire

Post Number: 79
I have a clear view of the North and North East sky. Is there any dish i can buy and point in that direction that will pick up a signal??

Gold Member
Username: Plymouth

Canada

Post Number: 5040
Jofee
You can't use a dish inside a apartment, but outside, because the waves can be reflected on walls and windows.