There are a lot of misconceptions as to what a factory reset or factory default does. The simple answer is that it restores the receiver settings to their factory default state (the way they were when they left the factory.) This only changes user settings, not any loaded factory bins or fixes. This removes the satellite selection, antenna settings, channel lists, time settings, all the user settings. Their may be times that you will find it necessary to do a factory reset if you need to remove duplicate channels, unwanted satellites, or are having a receiver issue of some sort. After a factory reset you will have to restore all of your previous receiver settings and rescan the satellites for your channels. It is a good idea to always have a copy of your receiver settings to make sure that they are right after bin changes and in case you have to do a factory reset.