Future of fta?

Silver Member
Username: Timscarlet

Usa

Post Number: 249
Hello, i heard rumours of the future of fta is only a couple of years, and that is it.

once ATT has bought completely dish network, and another company gets directv, they are all going to fiber optics, and getting rid of satellite tv.
is this true?

someone that lives out in the boonies, will not have access to directv or dish network, only the big c-band satellites and ku-band satellites.

just a rumour i have heard from fta installers here.

Silver Member
Username: Tigger_woods

Post Number: 121
FTA installers????

I guess I am a FTA installer...I do all my own dish setups. So a guy can install a fta setup, does not mean he knows anything else

I would be quite pleased if it lasted 2 moore years.

Your info about the end of the 18 inch satellite dishes is BOGUS.

Platinum Member
Username: Lklives

Post Number: 11791
Tim... U post bogus crap all the time...and at all different sites too...

Gold Member
Username: Tapeman

New York City in-HD, NY

Post Number: 1381
- DN and DTV as well as many other services are all in Ku band which is small dish 12GHz this won't go away for many decades to come.

- Fiber optic is a great threat for satellites but will never eliminate it . Infact KU band Satellites will always be a constant companion to any broadcast services thru out the century. Free to Air will always be around.

- PTA maybe eliminated on DN and BEV within few weeks but will pup up on other Satellite service provider. This will be constant cat and mouse chase.

Silver Member
Username: Runnerguy

Pluto

Post Number: 584
C&P from "The King" :