First HDTV, what cables to buy?

Hi, I am purchasing either Hitachi 53FDX20B
53" HDTV Monitor or Mitsubishi WS-55311
55" Gold Series tv. Any suggestions on which one to buy? Both around the same price $1800.
However, my main question is what should I make sure I buy with it? types of Monster Cables, antennae, surge protector,etc. I will be hooking it up to my cox digital cable servicein CT.Also, I was talking to a salesman that told me I should buy a some kind of filter for the cable from the wall? Not sure what that is, newbie here. Great forum, thanks alot.

I have the 43" Hitachi model and am very please with it. Excellent picture and plenty of features, that's the tv I would recommend. I use the monster cables but if you don't want to pay the high price for mosters other brands like Acoustic Research (AR) are half the price and probably just as good. A surge protector is a MUST. Most surge protectors for home theater have a noise filter and you can also hook the cable coax cords into it for surege protection there and filtering. That's the only thing the salesman may be referring to that I can think of. Hope that helped!

Rookie
Got the 57" Hitatchi swx20b, very sweet..though i have a friend who recommended having it tweaked..and while the picture was good from the factory, the picture now is incredible after the calibration...

If you can wait about 2 months the early buzz on the next Mits models is that they are hot.