Samsung extended warranty

Username: Bbbird

Post Number: 1
I am new to all this and researching my first "big TV" purchase. I think it may be the Samsung 50" DLP HL-S5087W. My question is the big chain stores push the extended warranty which I feel is overpriced (about $500 for 4 years). Does anyone know if Samsung offers a better priced warranty when you register the TV? I found this to be the case with a Toshiba laptop. Luckily, I was able to cancel the extended warranty from the big chain store.

Silver Member
Username: Fyi

Dallas, Texas

Post Number: 744
Samsung offers 15 months factory warranty included with set purchase if you register your set online. Pay with a credit card and it doubles. Thirty months at no cost isn't bad.

Great set choice, by the way! :-)

Username: Gatech94

Saint Petersburg, FL USA

Post Number: 1
Samsung is upgrading my TV set which is a 1st generation DLP set HLM437W. I've had several issues with it and finally decided to call Samsung Customer Service and complain. Well it sort of worked cause they are going to pro-rate and do an exchange for my older DLP TV. It's still going to cost $$$ to upgrade eventhough the set I have was $3500+ initially versus the new 1080P HLS models are under that now but that comes to be expected.

Anyway I'm really interested in this warranty thing and trying to figure out how this 30 month warranty works? You register the product - OK but where do you pay with credit card? Remember I'm getting the TV directly from Samsung notthrough one of the retailers.

Now I also need to decide:
DLP - LCD or Plasma... aaaahhh too many choices these days...

But want to keep the $$$ to a minimum so looking at the HLS 5087 or HLS 5088 and really trying to figure what the REAL differences are???

Silver Member

Dallas, Texas

Post Number: 749
Just get the S 5087! It's a DLP, by the way.
It's an absolutely wonderful set, you lucky dog! :-)