Newbie with LOTS of questions

Username: Woogi

Post Number: 1
Alright well im quite new to this but id like to play with the equitment i have b4 i commit to FTA.

Equitment i already have

1x old sony dss DTV dish
1x old sony sat-a55 DTV receiver (with a p4 card, from a friends active account)

1x JVC dishnet receiver (with a yellow "dish 500" card)

and i will soon aquire a dishnet dish and a 2nd receiver my questions are as follows (asuming im lucky enough that someone is still reading this)

1) P4 modding is still a no go correct? DISHNET would be my best option right now?

2) What would be the best tweaking hardware (keeping in mind that im on a budget, and ease of use is a huge +)

3) Am i correct that i would need a dishnet dish for the dishnet receiver (the DTV dish/lnb will not work with dishnet)

Thanks and i must say i spent prob. 2-3 hours at work 2day reading the great archives on this site..thnx in advance

-=woogi=-

Bronze Member
Username: Boyce

Post Number: 40
P4 still no go now
FTA receiver, DVB card( need PC), rom10 AVR (jtag,ISO loader), if you like to easy way, go FTA, or if you like to test and play, go for other.
OLD DTV dish and LNB will work.

Post Number: 2
yeah but from what ive seen FTA receiver are a bit pricey...and yes, right now id like to just play around. The old dtv dish is an (as a friend of mind from DTV told me) old sony 8-bit. But you wouldnt recomand going with dishnet? it seems that since i have a P4 card, (even though its older equitment, its still a p4 card) that from what ive read and heard, dishnet should be easier.

Post Number: 3
bumb

Post Number: 4
bump

Silver Member
Username: The_wank_artist

Post Number: 189
Dear John,
It's not you, it's me... LOL (my first Dear John letter)

It depends on what you consider pricey. Compared to a hamburger, yes, fta receivers are pricey. Compared to a car, they are not. You can find a decent receiver for under $200. Sounds like you have the rest (lnb, dish, cables).