Coax signal booster for Comcast Digital Cable & Internet

Bronze Member
Username: Tdoran70

NJ

Post Number: 19
Hello all,

I recently had my cable company out to take a look at my system because my DVR was acting a little weird. This guy really seemed to know what he was doing as he went down to my basement and figured out that I was probably having a lot of poor signals because there were a lot of old splitters down there.

He told me that with one line coming to the house, I would be really pushing it with four connections. I have five, so he recommended getting a signal booster to help things work a little better.

I have no experience with these so I am not quite sure where to go. He said the one that my cable company sells is close to $100 and I am pretty sure I can do better than that.

If anyone has a recommendation for me I would truly appreciate the help. I currently have 5 connections (4 TV's and 1 PC with wireless network). I normally check mySimon.com or eBay for prices but if you know of a SUPER deal, that would be even better!

Thanks!

ONE MORE THING - Does anyone know if you can DVR pay per view events? I normally just capture regular TV shows on my computer but my wife's sister and her husband are coming over next weekend and they want to see the PPV. My computer room is not nearly as comfortable as my living room is. I figure if we are going to shell out the money I may as well get it on DVD! Thanks!

Bronze Member
Username: Cabletech

Post Number: 12
If your cable company cant get enough signal to service 5 outlets the you are too far from the tap or the drop is bad. You should have about 10 dbmv at the splitter. I would put a 2-way in, one leg feeding the modem, the other feeding a four way splitter. If you dont have enough signal after the first splitter then add an amplifier. In answer to your other question it would depend on whether or not the PPV is copyright protected, which it probably is.

Bronze Member

NJ

Post Number: 20
Cabletech,