Help - problems after installing DVI cable!!!

Username: 02gsxr600

Post Number: 1
We have Time Warner Digital Cable in our area with a digital cable box (not a DVR). Our TV is a Toshiba 46" Widescreen Rear Projection (not LCD or Plasma). I know it's junk, but all we could afford at the time. Anyways, it's actually my family's TV and they hired a "professional" from a local "high-end" home theater store.

I'm being sarcastic if you can't tell...

Anyways, they charged my family hundreds of dollars and sold them a ton of cables. I used to work as an installer for several years so I was curious to see what kind of work they did. I open up the cabinet and see nothing but composite and s-video cables that they claim were "HD cables" on the receipt lmao.

So I went to the store and bought a DVI cable for the cable box, and component cables for the 2 DVD players. I get it all hooked up tonight and OMG something is seriously wrong! The DVD players with component cables look fine. However the cable box with DVI is really messed up!