Whats the deal with cable?

annonymousstudent
Unregistered guest
so i think i am going to get the Magnavox 51" from Walmart soon, i already have the 5.1 sound system and two digital coax cables for connections. if i were to get this, i know i need a HD receiver, is this it???
i am new to the HDTVs, will i need to get HD cable tv or anything, or does my receiver do the job? please let me know everything i will need from start to finish. i appreciate the help guys

Silver Member
Username: Fyi

Dallas, Texas

Post Number: 507
If you get HD digital cable you don't need an HD receiver. If you get HD Sat you don't need an HD receiver. If you just want the free off-air ED/HD local digital networks you will need an external ATSC HD receiver and a VHF/UHF antenna. Some makers call it a digital terestrial receiver.

Check http://www.antennaweb.org to see what digital channels are available in your area. Just enter your zip code.

Looks like you need a set of component video cables for your (y, Pr, Pb) HD connection on the set as well. That should do it.

annonymousstudent
Unregistered guest
thanks a bunch. so if i get regular cable and a HD receiver + antenna then i should be fine, (i probably wont be getting satellite tv or anything).

Silver Member

Dallas, Texas

Post Number: 512
That will work, but why not get an an HD cable box. You will get the local ED/HD channels with it even if you don't subscribe to the other HD channels like Discovery, HDNET, HBO, Showime, ESPN. Then, you don't have to buy an HD receiver or worry about antenna issues.

Personally, I really like HDNET and Discovery HD.

annonymousstudent
Unregistered guest
oh please dont laugh too hard but i thought a HD cable box and a HD receiver were the same thing. SO now if i get an HD cable box i will be able to subscribe to regular cable and have a good picture? this is nice to know financially (plus i was wondering how the huge antenna would look).

annonymousstudent
Unregistered guest