Archive through September 10, 2005

Silver Member
Username: Fyi

Dallas, Texas

Post Number: 212
Technicians try a lamp first.
If it won't fire, at least you have a spare lamp.

Username: Terryw

Post Number: 4
FYI & Anon,

Thank you very much for your comments. It looks like I will need to replace the lamp.

Can you tell me how difficult it is to replace the ballast? If I do need to order both I would like to put it in myself as I cannot afford a service call on top of the $280+ for both parts.

Aside from the usual "don't touch the lamp with your fingers" warning, is there anything else I should be careful of while inside the set?

Also - Will the LampLife hours be automatically reset when I replace the lamp? Or do I need to reset it manually from the service menu?

TIA - Terry

SSGENESIS
Unregistered guest
This is to Tom Bong, I am a Tech and I work for a big electronics retail company and first I can tell you that CRT RP from now are made to last no longer than five years, your set is not an excemple of the actual industry. Second the amount and variety of problems found on CRT RP are about 1000 times more than in a DLP unit and this is not counting CRT burning, convergence, and geometry issues. A fixed pixel unit like the DLP does not have any of this problems. You are counting bulbs and think that is expensive, try changeing CRTs out of warranty, you can do the first one your self but the CRT you must have a tech do it, plus a CRT is $300-400. And the last piece of info for every one, the electronics industry anounce that all of the manufacturers but sony will stop producing CRT TVs on April of 2006, and CRT in general (for warranty purposes) a year after that. To every one, the experience of one individual IS NOT an indication of a product or brand quality. ALL consumer electronics fail, from chip to expensive, the only electronics that it shoud not fail is for military, space program or the economic systems of the country and guess what? they fail too. It is