Best dlp projector for dvd movies for $1200

Dustin S.
Unregistered guest
I am looking for the best dlp projector for around $1200
I am new to looking at projectors for my home theatre. I am looking for some experienced opinions. Also are dlp projectors better than lcd or is this so close it is mainly opinion based.

Bronze Member
Username: Paul98

Post Number: 61
It depends on what you like, LCD in the same price range are going to not have as good black levels, and look somewhat washed out. In that range the LCD will have higher resolution, but worse contrast. So the lcd will have higher resolution and DLP will look better on everything other than resolution.

Check out the Infocus 4805

Silver Member
Username: Ziggyzoggyoioi

Outside Philadelphia, PA

Post Number: 159
You also need to figure out if you are susceptible to DLP rainbows - I know I am and it makes it annoying to watch DLP projectors. Some of the newer LCD models do a great job with contrast and black levels (although the best still can't match a good DLP for this). Getting the appropriate type/color screen for your projector can help the performance as well. You also don't say anything about your room... do you have complete control over the lighting in the room? How big a screen are you looking for? Are you going to ceiling-mount the projector or place it on something?

I evaluated about 10 projectors (fortunately I'm from a large metro area) before deciding on the Hitachi PJ-TX100. To me, it had the best picture of any PJ I saw under $5k, and I was able to buy one new for $1300.

Dustin S.
Unregistered guest