HDTV Video Cables... is there a difference?

Username: Studermw

Post Number: 1
I'm new to the HDTV world...so new I haven't even received my TV yet! But in preparation, I'm trying to get all the cables I need. I have TON of RCA cables. Will these work for component video? I know that Circuit City and Best Buy would like me to believe that I need Monster Component cables to do the job, but will the standard old RCA cables I've been using forever do the same thing? I'll shell out the money if I need to, but throwing these cables out seems like such a waste if they will work just the same.

Rob in Orlando
Unregistered guest
Hey Matt,

Let us know what connection inputs you have on your TV and the outputs of what you are going to be connecting to it (cable, satellite, etc.).

Post Number: 2
I'm going from a Comcast Motorola HDTV to a Sony ES receiver, and then to a Panasonic TH-42PHD7UY 42-IN Plasma HDTV. I'll also be hooking a DVD player into the receiver as well. All the video should be component video.

Silver Member
Username: Dmwiley

Post Number: 621
In general, standard RCA cables will transmit a component signal. However, quality of signal can be affected, depending on the quality of cable. Monster builds good products, but they are generally over priced. You should be able to get a decent set of component cables without breaking the bank.

Jetson
Unregistered guest
Matt:

I read the specs for your HDTV and component video comes standard on it.

The best possible option is to have a DVI or HDMI input. This allows for a 100% digital signal from the Comcast STB to the HDTV. Component video cables only transmit an analog signal. This causes the signal to be converted from digital to analog and back to digital so your HDTV can read it. The more times you convert a singnal back and forth, you lose quality.

You may want to see if you can have a DVI or HDMI input installed on your HDTV before it is delivered.