Help With Dinosaur

Username: Misbah

Post Number: 1
Hi, This is my first time posting to this forum, hope I can find the help I need. I dont have anything fancy at all, Im a broke college student and unfortunately cannot afford a brand new HDTV. What I do have is my friends HDTV that he gave to me because he moved. Its in absolutely perfect condition, and he bought it brand new about 3,4 years ago. Its a Sony KW-HD1. After researching it, I realized..it's old, technologically as well. None the less, my biggest annoyance is the lack of 480p or 740p. It says in the manual it will display ONLY in 480i and 1080i. I know ABC HD and a few other channels output in 740p, and progressive playback on my DVD player is also useless due to no 480p. I was wondering though, if I got TWC HD service, does the converter box convert everything into 1080i? Basically, if i get HD over cable, will I even be able to see the HD channels that arent in 1080i? And lastly, whats the resale on this TV? if I can even get a decent amount of money for it then I would sell it and save up the rest for a new HDTV, maybe a KV-34HS420?? He says he bought it for around 7 grand in late 01. No reciepts though so I dont know if thats the truth. Im sure its worth a fraction of that now, but any estimates? Thanks for any help, sorry for the lengthy post.

formerly xvxvxvx
Unregistered guest
So many questions grasshopper.

The STB will convert all the HD signals to 1080i if you wish.

You gain or lose nothing by sending 480p or 480i to your display. Generally all CRT's display only in their native resoultion.

ABC and ESPNHD and FOX use 720p but look at it like this. Even if you had a brand new $10,000 plasma HDTV it would scale and convert every single input signal from 480i, 480p, 720p and 1080i to it's native resolution. So you are not missing out at all.

It is worth what someone will pay for it, like anything used. IMHO about $500 to $700.

xvxvxvx

Lyn Stecci
Unregistered guest