Which HD antenna should I buy?

Username: Lotus1

Salt Lake City, UT USA

Post Number: 1
I am sure that many of you experts are tired of our pleas for help, but I would appreciate any advice offered. I recently purchased the Panasonic 43" LCD tv because it had a great picture, and it was at a reasonable price. I am very new to the HDTV world, and I am not sure where to go from here. After reading a few postings, I realize that I am going to need to get an HD antenna. The channels broadcast in HD in my area are 18 miles from my home (I found this info. by going to a website that was reccomended on this site)- what would be the best antenna to buy? I have an attic that I could set up in, or does it need to go on the roof? I hope not on the roof, it has a very steep pitch. Also, do I need to run a line from the antenna to the back of the tv? I am sure that there is any easier way out there...any suggestions?

Silver Member
Username: Dmwiley

Post Number: 194
Brett, God I hope you are wrong about "the experts". But based on some of the posts, I can understand how you might reach that conclusion. Did you try antennaweb.org to help pin down the type of antenna? I'm in the market for a rooftop job myself as my residence is much further from the tv stations than yours. I've heard the names Channel Master and Winneguard (not sure about spelling of latter) mentioned but like you, I'm still trying to find some objective info. Let me know what you decide.

Salt Lake City, UT USA

Post Number: 2