Help: AE700U; Am I seeing VB or something else?

Username: Maxwellj

Virginia USA

Post Number: 1
I just set up my Panasonic PT AE700U. So far, I love it. I am a total newbie to this stuff though; I've surfed this and other sites, and there seem to be a lot of knowledgable folks here. Recently I noticed an annoying distraction. I have horizontal lines of color that scroll up the screen. There are two thin greenish lines closely spaced (about 10% of screen height max) followed by two purplish lines (also closely spaced) about half a screen height below. They slowly march up the screen, then reappear at the bottom and do it again: green, purple, green, purple, etc. They are present when watching both cable TV and DVD.

I'm wondering if my setup has anything to do with it. I have a Yamaha RX-V750 receiver, which up-converts video inputs to a single component video output, which is good because my room layout doesn't allow a ton of cables to the PJ. So my DVD and cable box input to the Yamaha and I have a long run of component video cable, approx 42 feet (actually one 6' and three 12' Radio Shack "Gold" three-prong A/V cables with male-to-male adapters), to the projector on a shelf on the back wall. (Not an ideal setup, I know, but my room does not allow too much flexibility.)

So I'm wondering if this anomaly I'm seeing is a known defect, if it can be "tweaked" out, or if it's a function of my MacGyver-esque setup (not intended as a self-compliment), or worse, a faulty PJ. Has anyone seen this? Any ideas out there?

Virginia USA

Post Number: 2
Oops. I hope I didn't mess something up. I tried to start a new discussion, and now the BBS isn't showing any of the old threads under the "projectors" topic. If I have screwed things up for anyone, I am truly sorry to all. Like I said, I'm a newbie.

Anonymous