Please help with some basic 101s...

SEARCH OF KNOWLEDGE
Unregistered guest
OK, this is my first time here but spend half of today and have been reading alot of post here. And yes, i am new to all of this. In the past, I 've known some people who was able to get me so call "hot cards" for my DTV (got tired of spending over $90 every month to subscribe). I just now understand SOME (yea, just some) of the code names used in here to describe direct-tv, dish network and bell...something? And checked out sites offering "pansat"...(what can one do with that receiver)? I mean can you receive all the sat. companies networks...it sure sounded like if you pointed at the right sat. you can just about receive what ever you wish and if so why is there so many post asking how to use and program these receivers?
OK, I am not even sure if most people post here are hackers or what but I am not even looking to make any money out of this, just want some free satellite like most of us are on here for. I understand the so call P3 card is the "satellite pictured" access card and the P4 card is the "light blue" colored card with arrows on it and the P5 is the darker blue card with "direct-tv" printed on it. I have 4 of the light blue ones which I guess are the "P4" cards?...should I hold on to them along with 4 newer versions of the "Hughes" boxes and 2 older "RCA" boxes? The last person I knew helping me out on the "hot cards" spoke about using a "dish-network" box with some kind of access card to receive Canaidan sat. company programing...I've actually watched a little bit of the shows at his house and said that there were PPV channels and many others but no HBO as such but did have a dozen and a half ADULT channels(DAMN, I would try it)on that alone...lol
But seriously, if someone could take the time and shed some light to my questions...I would be most greatfull and PLEASE....if you are just going to Bash me on not knowing any of this...don't reply, I really do want some info.