Help !!! need to selct dvd recorder

Username: 18c

Post Number: 3
Im new to all teh dvd recording systems.. i am looking for a decent dvd recorder that i can not only record from tv but also make copies of dvd's .. for example.. if i record something on a dvd with my dvd camcorder.. i ould like to be able to make copies of that dvd so i can send home movies to family.. are there any dvd recorders that actualy make copies of dvd's and if so.. could you point me in teh right direction?

Post Number: 4
i would like to be able to make copies of home dvd movies.. and possibly movies that i have bought also..

Silver Member
Username: Samijubal

Post Number: 457
You need a DVD recorder with a hard drive to make copies. Or you could buy a burner and make the copies on the PC, that would be faster, cheaper and give more options for editing etc. I've got a JVC that does videotapes pretty good, but it has some issues, I wouldn't buy another one. If you want to copy anything prerecorded you need a stabilizer.

Post Number: 5
im new to this.. what is a stabelizer.. and when you say a dvd recorder with a harddrive.. is this what you mean? http://www.shopathometv.com/shopathome/network/jshop/shopdev/product/detail.jsp? BV_SessionID=@@@@1021920062.1100749332@@@@&BV_EngineID=cccdaddddjmdgklcefeceeedffjdfjg.0&n=0& OID=59167 and what exactly will the dvd recorder hard drive allow me to do?... and is it hard to figure out? you will have to excuse me but i know nothing about this.. and my wife wont let me get one until i research it.. and we can can see what they do so we make sure we get the correct one..

Post Number: 6
sorry that link didnt work.. but this is teh info.. one last question.. how big of a hard drive will i need to record movies and what not.. for instance how much time will a 30 gig drive like this one hold?