DVD sound quality and connections

Username: Kashownly

Post Number: 1
Hello

I am trying to purchase a new DVD player. My DVD player right now has the older style 5.1 channel analog connections which can be hooked up to a receiver to achieve 5.1 sound. It has no optical or co-axial digital audio, which is why I'd like a new one. (Also, I'm a student, so looking for something very low priced for now...in other words HDMI may be out of my price range) I've got a receiver with optical and co-axial IN ports, so I'm looking for a DVD player that can connect to those, but I'm not sure how the technology works.

Are all DVD players with digital audio out capability (either Co-axial or optical) able to send 5.1 sound out? Or does a DVD player have to Dolby Digital capable in order to send 5.1 sound?

For example, these two DVD players have optical and co-ax outputs:

LG DN-798:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=35471 87&Sku=L49-7002

and the very simple HEC DVD50:
http://www.scribd.com/doc/30393796/Haier-HEC-DVD50-User-Manual-22Apr2010

The first one is more expensive and clearly supports Dolby Digital. But both players can output on optical and co-axial lines. Are they both 5.1 ready? Dolby Digital ready? If that's all I'm looking for, can I stick with the cheaper player?

Another question: How does decoding Dolby Digital, Dolby Pro Logic, and Dolby Pro Logic 2 work? If my receiver has Dolby Pro Logic 2 capability, does my DVD player also have to have this? Can my DVD player simply be Dolby Digital (or less, in that HEC DVD50 case), but my receiver can still decode Dolby Pro Logic or Pro Logic 2 information from the DVD's I watch, as long as it's sent raw via the optical or co-ax lines?

Thanks so much for reading and for your help,
David

Silver Member
Username: Vm8444

TorontoCanada

Post Number: 311
Dave hi,

sorry I can't answer all your questions I have 2 jobs.