First home theatre

Username: Matt_decat

Post Number: 1
Not sure where to start, but here it goes. I'm planning on installing my first 'home theatre' in my bedroom. I have a sound knowledge base in car audio, but don't know anything about home audio. My current plan at the moment is as follows:

TV - Samsung UA32B6000 (because it is a very thin TV so it should hopefully fit in my wardrobe, I may even decide to go one size larger)
DVD/BluRay - My laptop.

As i am new to all of this im unsure of what possibilities there are. i listen to a fair amount of music, but watch a number of movies too, so ideally i'd like a setup which is good for both.

My questions (atm) are, what components do i have to buy in order to create my home theatre? should i go for 5.1, 7.1 or is there another option that is recommended? Am i able to integrate my laptop into the system so that it does more than simply play dvds? What recommendations can you give in regards to the setup?

Finally, i'm a university student so my budget is a little tight, but to give me a rough idea of what there is and the quality i shall get with this budget, ill start off with a budget of $3,000 (this doesn't include the tv). One more thing, my room is fairly small (3x3.8m) and has a bed, desk, bookshelf and a 1 seater sofa all crammed into it.

thanks for the help guys

Silver Member
Username: Mccambley

BREEZY POINT, NY USA

Post Number: 709
The 32B6000 is a nice TV but do you really need to spend a $1000 on a 32" TV. 1080P will not be visible on such a small screen, so there is no reason to go there. 1.2 " or 4" it will fit in the same cabinet, I guess I don't like your TV choice.
5.1 is all anybody really needs, 7.1 has its place in large rooms or large budgets.
As far as your laptop is concerned, if it has Media Center and a TV card it can be used as a DVR.