Is this possible?

Username: Wjscherer

Post Number: 1
Ok so I've never built a theater sound system before and I've been told that bookshelves are the best to start off with, as they will give the most noticeable increase in sound? I don't as of yet have a receiver to hook the speakers to, and I am wanting to plug them straight into the LCD TV with the red and white plug audio cord. Only thing is that the speakers I was interested in, Insignia® - 6-1/2" Bass-Reflex Bookshelf Speakers, don't have the inputs on the back for the standard red/white audio cable plugs. I went ahead and read about "bananna plugs", which the manual said can be used with the speakers, but I'm still not sure if they will work to hook the speaker into the TV's audio out jacks. And I don't want to buy anything unless I'm sure I can make it work. Just from reading this you can tell I don't know anything about audio systems so any reading material or advice would be much appriciated.

Thanks in advance,
Wes

Silver Member
Username: Jrbay

Livonia [Detroit area], Michigan USA

Post Number: 811
Greetings Wes,

There are a few questions that come up to get a better grip on how to help you. I can appreciate what you are trying to accomplish by adding speakers to your TV and I am sure you will be happy you did but if I can dig a little deeper perhaps we can improve the results.

First question is what is your ultimate goal with this system? Are you planning to add these speakers to your TV and call it good or are you planning to make additions and improvements over time (I highly recommend the latter, misery and upset woman folk LOVE company)

Anyway the second question is, why Insignia speakers?

Bronze Member
Username: Rmammerschuber

NY USA

Post Number: 18