Help a complete (not quick lerner) newbie

Username: Josephnyc

Post Number: 1
Hi,

Please excuse this absolute newbie post.

I have extensive experience with computers and wiring, some with electronics, and plenty with consumer electronic, but very (very) little with home theater.

This is for my own place.

I visited a friend yesterday who has a Panasonic 58" Plasma, a Denon rcvr and a Control4 controller and was blown away.

I'm ready to scrap what I have now.

What I want is a big (58" or 65") plasma (maybe the TH-65PZ750U or the TH58PZ700U), with a receiver, CD, DVD player that also plays my many thousands of MP3's.

The MP3's are already on a network accessible NAS drive.

The location for the system is already wired for power, ethernet and speakers.

Can I simply get away with a Panasonic Plasma, a Denon AVR-3808CI receiver, and a DVD-2930CI DVD player?

Will this setup allow me to play my NAS-residing audio files well?

Will it display and let me browse/select the file/song info on screen?

Will the DVD-2930CI play both commercial movie DVD's as well as commercial music CDs? Is it Blu-ray?

Can I use my existing speakers (front set: Bic DV62si; rear set: Polk model S4; no front/center speaker to speak of; subwoofer)?

Will a drywall on metal studs wall hold the nearly 200lb TV?

I'm using RCN cable now (digital, HD), but will hopefully be switching to Verizon FIOS when available. Does this play a role?

Do I need a controller like Control4?

Thank you so much!

Joseph

Silver Member
Username: Jrbay

Livonia [Detroit area], Michigan USA

Post Number: 485
WOW, there are a lot of questions here but by the look of it all the answers are generally yes except that the DVD player you have spec'ed is not Blu-Ray. For the cost of it I might suggest looking into something like the DVD-2500BTCI unless there was something you really liked about the 2930CI.