Need help to decide on Home Theater system within $600

Username: Daisy1234

San jose, Ca US

Post Number: 2
Hi,

I am a complete newbee as far as home theater is concerned. I have a 62" Panasonic LCD projection tv with dolby and bbe. It is a HDTV but I do not have HDTV streaming at present. May go for HD DVD player if needed. I would like to buy a good brand receiver and speaker system within a budget of $600. I am not really an audiophile but would luv to have a good av system to go with my tv.
I watch TV (have dish connection) most of the time rather than dvds so would like a syatem that works very nicely with tv too. I have been reading the reviews about Onkyo, Denon, Yamaha and HK but am completely confused. I have also heard about AV systems that convert normal dvd/ dish signal to near HD format. Am not sure about that but would like to give that a lot of preference if that increases the video quality of my tv signals.

In nutshell:

1. <$600
2. AV Recvr + Speakers
3. More TV Usage
4. Consideration for HD upconverting

Please help me with the same as am totally confused at present.

Thanks

Username: Shakirhyd

Post Number: 1
If you want the best one, go for a Bose 7.1 which would push you back by about 1200.

Else, you could go for Harman Kardon or Onkyo which are reasonably priced and good as well.

Denon is also on the expensive side as well.

San jose, Ca US

Post Number: 3
If possible, I would like to stick to my budget of $600 or thereabouts. Would really apreciate any inputs.

Silver Member
Username: Huron

Post Number: 393