Sony DAV-HDX265 no signal

Username: Lowgear

Post Number: 1
Hello,
I recently purchased an Insignia NS-LCD26 tv and a Sony DAV-HDX265 HTIB.I'm new to this stuff so please bear with me.

I'm having a lot of trouble hooking my tv up to play through it. I want to have the audio from regular tv play through the surround sound speakers. shouldn't be difficult right? Well I can't get it to do that and ive tried a million different things over the past couple days! I can get it to do everything else though.

We have cable tv but no set top boxes. Do I screw the the coaxial cable into the home theater unit or into the tv? Im guessing the tv because the place where you can screw it into the home theater unit seems to be only for FM radio connections. Although it seems more logical that the cable signal should go into the the home theater unit before the tv. So thats my first question.

Ive tried to hook this home theater unit up to the tv with composite cables, S-video cable, and finally component cables, and I still cant get it to work. The only cable I haven't tried yet is an HDMI one. I changed the appropriate settings in the home theater unit and the tv for each corresponding cable and still nothing.

Right now I have the component cables hooked up between the tv and the home theater unit. I have the tv and home theater unit settings set to use the component cables, and I have the coaxial cable screwed directly into the tv. I lastly have the home theater unit set on the tv/video funtion. With that like that I figure I should now have a picture on the tv and the audio from the tv going through the surround sound speakers. But this is not the case. All I get on the tv is a small square that says "No Signal"