Need Help: Bought a House with a Projector

Username: Lnester

Post Number: 1
Hi, I'm new to the forum. I just purchased a home that has a Sony LCD Projector (VPL-VW10HT) still installed, with a drop-down screen. Also, there are surround sound speakers installed in the walls. Everything is wired to a spot in a closet in the back of the room. I'm sure of the setup, but I see Monster cables still connected.

There is no receiver or DVD player, so I will purchase both. Is there anything special I need to do when hooking these up, or should everything be pretty straight forward. I'm a newbie when it comes to surround sound and projection screens.

Thanks! Great forum!!

Bronze Member
Username: Hodedofome

TX USA

Post Number: 65
Do you know what the room dimensions are, and what speakers it has?

Silver Member
Username: Huron

Post Number: 102
When you get the projector fired up, go into the menu and see how much bulb life you have, and find a owners manual, and find out if it has a screen filter on the bulb, and if it dos you will want to clean it, I love pojectors they require tinkering, I just looked at your projector, looks like a nice one, so you should take care of it. If I left a projector behind like this one it would mean the bulb was close to the end, or other problems, If it didnt, I would have lift you the receiver before the projector, is it ceiling mounted?

Silver Member

Post Number: 104
to help you more look at the projector hookup, is it composite, S, component, HDMI, and as Aaron says, what speakers, and what is your room like, hold off on buying a receiver untill these things are figured out, is the projector ceiling mounted?

Silver Member

Post Number: 105
do you plan on using the projector just for movies, and have a nice tv for normal use all in the same room, with cable or satlite?

Post Number: 2
Thanks for the replies.