Advice on REALLY cheap system??

Username: Javaheidi

Post Number: 1
Hey Everyone,

I'm totally new to this and have never owned a home theater system. I've been doing a little research, trying to find a really cheapsystem--like under $200. Unfortunately, many of the ones I've looked at have had complaints on Amazon or epinions about them just quitting or only partially working after just a few months!! Since the point is to save money and not have to keep shelling out for a new system every few months or so, I was hoping to find something decent for as little $$ as possible.

I'm not looking for anything fancy, basically just an upgrade to the sound my TV currently has. I've got a Philips 30pw9110d/37(for anyone who's really interested, specs for this can be found at: http://www.p4c.philips.com/files/3/30pw9110d_37/30pw9110d_37_pss_aen.pdf ) I'm receiving my TV signal via digital cable through a Motorola DCT6412 DVR STB.

Has anyone out there seen a system in this price range that they know will last longer than a year and actually be an improvement to my current sound?

Thanks in advance to anyone with any advice!! I hate being a newbie, but it's great to know there are people out there who can send me in the right direction. And if there has already been a recent thread on just this issue, so sorry and where is it?

Heidi

Platinum Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 13961
The problem with really cheap systems would exactly be that they are cheap.
But there are systems out there nowadays that will fit the bill...although not in abundance.

Try the Pioneer HTP-2750DV...I believe it is available in Best Buy for $199.

Post Number: 2